In July, 2019, the United States designated three Lebanese members of parliaments (MPs) who are linked with Hizbollah and believed to be aligned with Iran.

Details of the Hizbollah-Related Sanctions

OFAC designated three individuals – Amin Sherri, Mohammed Hassan Murad, and Wafiq Safa – for acting on behalf of Hezbollah as the politicians representing Hezbollah interests. The specific sanctions authority placed these members of parliament in Lebanon on the SDN, or Specially Designated Nationals list.

Mr. Murad is a member of Hezbollah’s Shura Council which oversees Hezbollah’s military activity. Mr. Safa is linked to Hassan Nasrallah, the leader of Hezbollah. Currently, Hezbollah is considered a foreign terrorist organization and a Specially Designated Global Terrorist (SDGT).

These designations mean that U.S. persons are unable to engage in dealings with the sanctioned individuals, including any use of the U.S. financial system for transactions involving the designated persons. Any other assets in the United States are now frozen or blocked. The State Department indicates that any Lebanese government official who has ties with Hizbollah should cease these connections or risk being sanctioned and designated for treason.

Impact of the Hizbollah Sanctions

This is the first time members of the Lebanese parliament have been designated. These designations show that U.S. sanctions can be imposed on Lebanese officials who are thought to have been acting on behalf of Hizbollah.